Books or Strippers?

Honestly, I love the recent debate in the newspaper and on TV about the library expansion vs. the business practices of a North Peoria strip club. I am not going to take sides. I’ll leave that to more informed bloggers who actually have opinions. Now if the plans called for an underground subway line, then I’d be all over that. Alas, they don’t. 

But regardless of how you feel about it in any case, it’s amazing that a strip club and a new library can be mentioned in the same news story. I guess for some, both are about learning and broadening your horizons. Again, I don’t have an opinion strong enough to jump into the fray but does any one else find it kinda interesting, and think “only in Peoria.” Only here where a previous mayor blocked the riverboat from coming here due, in part of moral concerns. Yet, there’s a heated debate now about the legality of the club and apparently, the battle has carried over into the talks over the library. Wow. Imagine what else could happen in Peoria?

Hmm, they are having talks on expanding police or fire services and someone demands a new stop sign some place? Or all development on the riverfront stops until we have paved sidewalks in another area. Could happen. That’s why I love this town. Again, no stance either way, but I am never bored.

Leave a comment