Wither the Museum

I love the recent stories on the Blogs and in the paper about the recent museum survey. To me, it’s a classic case of how there are statistics and then there are statistics. People who are against the museum like CJ and the pundit. They are irate, or at least, in print, about what they call a “deliberate attempt to deceive taxpayers,” as the pundit says. CJ, who actually backs up his case with facts, isn’t so harsh but takes them to task. Super. Go for it guys.

But I also love how the museum people are spinning the survey. According to the PJS, most of the county’s residents think it’s a good idea, and are willing to pay for it — a key factor. They point to a majority of the people who would favor a tax increase while ignoring the biggest voting block who said they weren’t sure or didn’t want one. So who’s right?

Hell, I don’t know. I am sick with the flu and see visions of Caterpillar D-9s driving over my head. That was meant to be funny. It wasn’t. I left it there to give you an idea of how crappy I feel. So why I am posting when I don’t know what I am talking about. Because it’s a blog and that’s what they are for! Ha. Not really but you get the idea.

Nah, I just enjoy it because I truly think the museum would be an asset for this town but I don’t think Lakeview has done a good job of selling the idea to the public, the legislators or donors. The price keeps going up, there are delays and the size of the building keeps getting smaller. Several downtown businesses have died, in part, because they were waiting for that thing to go up. It’s been more than 10 years and nothing. Will it ever happen? I don’t know but I must say I love the spinning of the survey. Makes me feel like there is a national presidential race taking place. Wow, I just read my post and I need to learn to take a stand. How boring. Well, maybe later. I can edit these things.

For the record, I didn’t surveyed. I didn’t get called and I feel left out. I want in on the fun. So to all surveyors. you can call me just not during dinner time or when we put the kids to bed.

Leave a comment